## **RESOLUTION #25-8-R**

## A RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF ONE FAIR WAGE

**WHEREAS**, nearly 198,000 tipped workers in Illinois continue to be paid a subminimum wage that leaves many in poverty and dependent on tips and public assistance; and,

**WHEREAS,** tipped workers in Illinois earn a median annual income of only \$16,879, facing financial instability, wage theft, sexual harassment, and discrimination due to their dependency on a two-tiered wage system; and,

**WHEREAS**, seven states—California, Oregon, Washington, Nevada, Minnesota, Montana, and Alaska—have successfully eliminated the subminimum wage, showing that full minimum wages with tips on top can coexist with thriving businesses, strong tips, and increased economic security for workers; and,

**WHEREAS,** One Fair Wage legislation in Illinois seeks to ensure all workers are paid a full minimum wage with tips on top, with enforcement provisions to prevent tip theft and wage exploitation; and,

WHEREAS, the Raise the Wage Act of 2025 (H.R. 2743) would:

- A. Raise the federal minimum wage to \$17/hour by 2030;
- B. Gradually eliminate the subminimum wage for tipped workers over 7 years, workers with disabilities over 5 years, and youth workers over 7 years.
- D. Provides raises for over 22 million workers across the country, according to the Economic Policy Institute (EPI).

AND WHEREAS, Illinois' leadership in the U.S. House is reflected in its original cosponsors of H.R. 2743, including Rep. Jonathan Jackson (IL-1), Rep. Robin Kelly (IL-2), Rep. Delia Ramirez (IL-3), Rep. Jesús "Chuy" García (IL-4), Rep. Mike Quigley (IL-5), Rep. Sean Casten (IL-6), Rep. Danny Davis (IL-7), Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-8), Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL-9), Rep. Brad Schneider (IL-10), Rep. Bill Foster (IL-11), Rep. Nikki Budzinski (IL-13), and Rep. Lauren Underwood (IL-14); and,

**WHEREAS,** Senator Tammy Duckworth and Senator Dick Durbin of Illinois are among the 33 original Senate cosponsors of the Raise the Wage Act of 2025, joining over 170 total federal co-sponsors and more than 85 national organizations; and,

**WHEREAS,** this legislation is supported by research from the Economic Policy Institute, which shows that a living wage in all 50 states exceeds \$17/hour.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the Supervisor and Board of Trustees of Wheatland Township, Will County, Illinois, as follows:

**Section 1:** Declares its strong support for local, state, and federal legislation to eliminate the subminimum wage and ensure all workers are paid a full minimum wage.

**Section 2:** Urges the Illinois General Assembly to pass One Fair Wage legislation to phase out the subminimum wage in Illinois and enforce protections against wage theft and tip exploitation.

**Section 3:** Calls upon the Illinois Congressional Delegation, including Senators Durbin and Duckworth, to continue their leadership and support passage of the Raise the Wage Act of 2025 (H.R. 2743) to raise wages and eliminate the sub-min wage nationally, close wage gaps, and empower working people.

**Section 4:** Encourages other municipalities and townships across Illinois to pass similar resolutions in solidarity with workers, building statewide momentum for One Fair Wage.

**Section 5:** Affirms its willingness to sign on as a supporter of the Illinois One Fair Wage campaign, to allow use of the Township's name and logo in campaign materials demonstrating support, and to engage in further dialogue regarding additional opportunities to advance fair wages.

**Section 6:** Directs the Township Supervisor or designee to transmit this resolution to state legislators, the Governor of Illinois, all Illinois Members of the General Assembly, and all Illinois Members of the United States Congress.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that Wheatland Township commits to becoming a sign-on partner to the Illinois One Fair Wage campaign and coalition, supporting grassroots efforts, public education, and advocacy to advance fair wages and economic justice in our community and beyond.

ADOPTED AND APPROVED on this 22nd day of May 2025.

	Attest:	
Supervisor Michael Crowner	Clerk Terry Jones	